## THE MISSISSIPPI BAR MEMORIAL RESOLUTION October 12, 2021

WHEREAS, The Mississippi Bar gathers today with the Justices of the Mississippi Supreme Court to pay tribute to those members of our profession who departed this life during the past year; and

WHEREAS, we are deeply saddened by the passing of these members of the profession; and

WHEREAS, we recognize and give thanks for the legacy of each in shaping this honored profession both in Mississippi and beyond. While some gave decades of service, the careers of others were cut short, but we acknowledge each had an impact on the pursuit of justice and upholding the rule of law; and accordingly we celebrate the legacy and memory of their dedication and contributions to our profession; and

WHEREAS, we give thanks for the devoted public service of those we honor today, and we acknowledge that, without their devotion, and often sacrifice, which they exemplified, the liberty and freedoms we enjoy today would be endangered and our individual lives diminished; and

WHEREAS, in mourning the loss of these members of the bar, we also recognize that their passing will never diminish the profound impact each has made in the lives of their families, their colleagues, their communities, and on this profession; and

WHEREAS, in the reading of these names of our departed colleagues, we express our admiration, respect, and deepest gratitude for their service to our profession and for enriching our lives and communities with their friendship:

Joseph G. Able	Slidell, LA	Admitted 1985
Robert O. Allen	Brookhaven	Admitted 1972
Dorrance D. Aultman, Jr.	Biloxi	Admitted 1987
Charles E. Baglan, Jr.	Batesville	Admitted 1978
Oliver R. Bailey, Jr.	Brandon	Admitted 1970
David A. Baker	Louisville, KY	Admitted 2003
William H. Barbour, Jr.	Yazoo City	Admitted 1966
Pat M. Barrett, Jr.	Lexington	Admitted 1967
Jefferson C. Bell	Hattiesburg	Admitted 1954
Henry H. Black	Clinton	Admitted 1974
Eddie H. Bowen	Raleigh	Admitted 1980
Aubrey H. Brewer	Jackson	Admitted 1967
David M. Brisolara	Long Beach	Admitted 1998
Charles L. Brocato	Brandon	Admitted 1961
Phillip J. Brookins	Jackson	Admitted 1974
Edmund L. Brunini, Jr.	Jackson	Admitted 1969
Charles A. Carter	Ridgeland	Admitted 1953
Clinton C. Carter	Montgomery, AL	Admitted 2000
John L. Clay	Madison	Admitted 1978
Jimmie L. Collins, Sr.	Shaw	Admitted 1982
Joseph Michael Corrigan, Jr.	Meridian	Admitted 1960
Edward G. Cortright, Jr.	Madison	Admitted 1952
Thomas W. Crockett, Jr.	Jackson	Admitted 1956
Dale Danks, Jr.	Jackson	Admitted 1963
Andy Davis	Meridian	Admitted 1995
Jack R. Davis	Jackson	Admitted 1966
Patricia A. Dicke	Diamondhead	Admitted 2002

Cassandra G. Dillon	Pascagoula	Admitted 1979
Patricia F. Dunmore	Natchez	Admitted 1979
Ralph B. Elston	Fort Wayne, IN	Admitted 1963
Michael Eubanks	Lumberton	Admitted 1966
Eugene L. Fair	Hattiesburg	Admitted 1968
Mark T. Finch, Jr.	Hattiesburg	Admitted 1961
Roger M. Flynt, Jr.	Oxford	Admitted 1964
Sam N. Fonda	Greenwood	Admitted 1976
Dennis M. Ford	Oxford	Admitted 1967
John J. Franco, Jr.	San Antonio, TX	Admitted 1960
Walter J. Gex III	Diamondhead	Admitted 1963
Norman L. Gillespie	Oxford	Admitted 1961
William F. Goodman, Jr.	Jackson	Admitted 1951
Hardy P. Graham, Sr.	Meridian	Admitted 1970
John R. Hailman	Oxford	Admitted 1969
Henry D. Hall	Lebanon, TN	Admitted 1974
John M. Harral	Gulfport	Admitted 1974
Barbara F. Hederman	Jackson	Admitted 1953
Breland Hilburn	Jackson	Admitted 1966
J. Corbit Hinson III	Summerville, SC	Admitted 1983
Forrest E. Holder	Gulfport	Admitted 1955
Walter M. Holifield	Laurel	Admitted 1962
Ollie F. Jamison	Kosciusko	Admitted 1970
Debbie L. Jared	Elba, AL	Admitted 1981
Robert G. Johnston	Cleveland	Admitted 1964
Leigh Ann Key	Meridian	Admitted 1993
William N. Krucks	Winnetka, IL	Admitted 1976
William W. Lamkin	Columbus, OH	Admitted 1965
Robert L. Lennon	Washington, D.C.	Admitted 1964
James E. Lever	Hazlehurst	Admitted 1972
Roland C. Lewis	Jackson	Admitted 1966
Dewitt M. Lovelace	Destin, FL	Admitted 1973
Frederick J. Lusk, Jr.	Biloxi	Admitted 1973
Frederick J. Mannino	D'Iberville	Admitted 1953
Gerald Maples	Metairie, LA	Admitted 1977
Robert R. Marshall	Hattiesburg	Admitted 1973
Marcus E. Martin	Brandon	Admitted 1966
James D. Maxwell	Tupelo	Admitted 1970
Quentin P. McColgin	Ridgeland	Admitted 2002
John L. McDavid	Jackson	Admitted 1956
Dan A. McIntosh III	Collins	Admitted 1964
Paul G. Millsaps, Jr.	Starkville	Admitted 2013
Timothy D. Moore	Jackson	Admitted 1996
Joan E. Myers	Terry	Admitted 1988
William B. Noble	Canton	Admitted 1977
Pleas M. Norris	Canton	Admitted 1972
Stewart Parrish	Meridian	Admitted 1998
John L. Pearson III	Rosedale	Admitted 1950
Edmund J. Phillips, Jr.	Newton	Admitted 1963
Claude Pintard, Jr.	Natchez	Admitted 1958
Jacob C. Pongetti	West Point	Admitted 1958
Jacob M. Ritchey	Canton	Admitted 1972
Lindia P. Robinson	Jackson	Admitted 1979
Ronald J. Senko	Woodville	Admitted 1964
David M. Sessums	Vicksburg	Admitted 1979
Robert Shuler Smith	Jackson	Admitted 1996
Lee R. Spence	Covington, LA	Admitted 1948
Larry Spencer	Madison	Admitted 1970
Zollie C. Steakley	Waco, TX	Admitted 2002
Hardy R. Stennis	Macon	Admitted 1970

Syria Sturdivant	Meridian	Admitted 1973
Lee D. Thames	Vicksburg	Admitted 1960
William Patrick Thomas	Madison	Admitted 1968
Gary D. Thrash	Ridgeland	Admitted 1974
Burke S. Torrey	Vicksburg	Admitted 1973
William E. Trusty	Batesville	Admitted 1967
Thomas M. Tubb	West Point	Admitted 1974
Richard R. Vaughan	Pascagoula	Admitted 1987
Denis E. Vega	Metairie, LA	Admitted 2000
Steven C. Wallace	Columbus	Admitted 1997
James L. Warren III	Jackson	Admitted 1987
Frankie Walton White	Jackson	Admitted 1975
John W. Whitten III	Sumner	Admitted 1978
Everett G. Willard, Jr.	Westminster, CO	Admitted 1982
Richard B. Wilson, Jr.	Jackson	Admitted 1964
William F. Winter	Jackson	Admitted 1949

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the members of The Mississippi Bar assembled in this Memorial Service before the Supreme Court of Mississippi on this the 12<sup>th</sup> day of October 2021, pay tribute and honor to our deceased colleagues, recognizing their manifold contributions to our State, our profession, and our society.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the members of The Mississippi Bar here assembled before the Justices of the Mississippi Supreme Court hereby extend their deepest sympathy and respect to the families of those colleagues whom we memorialize today.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Memorial be made a part of The Mississippi Bar's permanent records and with the permission of the Justices, be entered into the Minutes of the Supreme Court of the State of Mississippi.

Respectfully submitted,

THE MISSISSIPPI BAR Robert L. Gibbs, President